Iwobi, Moses headline Nigeria's World Cup squad

Nigeria's Alex Iwobi, center, duels for the ball with England's Dele Alli during a friendly soccer match between England and Nigeria at Wembley stadium in London, Saturday, June 2, 2018. (AP Photo/Matt Dunham)
Nigeria's Alex Iwobi, right, celebrates with teammates after scoring his side's opening goal during a friendly soccer match between England and Nigeria at Wembley stadium in London, Saturday, June 2, 2018. (AP Photo/Matt Dunham)

VIENNA — Alex Iwobi and Victor Moses are the big names in Nigeria's final 23-man squad for the World Cup, with John Obi Mikel as captain.

Iwobi, Moses and Kelechi Iheanacho offer coach Gernot Rohr a variety of options up front, while the 2-meter (6-foot-6) striker Simeon Nwankwo is included after earning his first cap Monday against Congo.

Left-back Bryan Idowu, who was born and raised in the Russian city of St. Petersburg, could play in his home city when Nigeria takes on Argentina in Group D, after Nigeria revealed its final squad on Twitter on Sunday.

Goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa is the only squad member who plays for a Nigerian club after fellow 'keeper Dele Ajiboye and the Nigerian league's top scorer Junior Lokosa were both cut from the provisional squad.

Nigeria traveled Sunday to a training camp in Austria after its 2-1 friendly loss to England in London on Saturday. The Nigerians' final World Cup warmup is against the Czech Republic on Wednesday.

Nigeria starts its sixth World Cup campaign against Croatia on June 16 in Kaliningrad before taking on Iceland in Volgograd on June 22 and then Argentina in St. Petersburg on June 26.


Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba), Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United).

Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor), Tyronne Ebuehi (Den Haag), Elderson Echiejile (Brugge), Bryan Idowu (Amkar Perm), Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes), William Ekong (Bursaspor), Leon Balogun (Brighton), Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa).

Midfielders: John Obi Mikel (Tianjin TEDA), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester), Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas), John Ogu (Hapoel Be'er Sheva), Joel Obi (Torino).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester), Victor Moses (Chelsea), Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal), Simeon Nwankwo (Crotone).


More AP World Cup coverage: www.apnews.com/tag/WorldCup

Must Read

Martins Dukurs takes European skeleton title with...

Dec 15, 2017

Latvian slider Martins Dukurs won the European skeleton title for a third straight year by earning...

Svindal beats Jansrud for Norwegian 1-2 in World...

Jan 19, 2018

Aksel Lund Svindal led a Norwegian 1-2 finish ahead of Kjetil Jansrud in the last World Cup super-G...

Dressen wins downhill for 1st German victory in...

Jan 20, 2018

Thomas Dressen has won the classic World Cup downhill on the Streif for Germany's first victory in...

Sports minister apologizes to Kristoffersen for...

Jan 24, 2018

Austrian minister of sports apologizes to skier Henrik Kristoffersen for snowballs thrown at him...

Late Rolando winner sends Marseille to Europa...

May 3, 2018

Portuguese defender Rolando scored late in extra-time to give Marseille a 3-2 aggregate win over...


About Us

From transfer news, tactical analysis to predictions, get only the best of the world of sports daily with Daily Sports Club.

Contact us: sales[at]dailysportsclub.com

Subscribe Now!